New York State Pilotage Districts

The Board currently issues three types of legislatively authorized State pilot licenses, each covering a separate portion of New York State navigable waters.  Jurisdiction, originally as to Sandy Hook Pilots at the Port of New York in 1853, was extended to Hell Gate Pilots by Chapter 283, Laws of 1928; extended to Hudson River pilots by Chapter 676, Laws of 1959; and extended to Long Island Sound-Block Island Sound pilots by Chapter 942, Laws of 1971.

The New York State Pilotage Districts under the responsibility of this Board are:

  • The Port of New York/New Jersey District
  • The Hudson River District (Port facilities from Yonkers to Albany-Rensselaer)
  • Long Island and Block Island Sound District